New Rs 20 coins announced by the Government

In a first, the government has announced new Rs 20 coin which be shaped like a 12-edged polygon (dodecagon). The outside diameter of new Rs 20 coin will be 27mm (millimeters) and it will weigh 8.54 grams, a notification from the finance ministry stated. The composition of the new coin will be 65 per cent copper, 15 per cent zinc and 20 per cent nickel for the outer ring, while the inner ring (centre piece) will be 75 per cent copper, 20 per cent zinc and five per cent nickel.

Unlike the circular Rs 10 coin, the new Rs 20 coin will not have any marks on its edges. The ministry has not given any other cues on its design or appearance yet in the notification. But, like the Rs 10 coin, it will be two-toned with a similar diameter. The government will also release the new series of prototypes of Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5 and Rs 10. The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) had issued the first Rs 10 coin nearly 10 years ago in March 2009. Since then, there have been 13 iterations of the coin. 

Related posts

Rising tide Of Nationalism leads to fake news: BBC Report

Kishore Yeneke

Prime Minister Greets President on his 73rd birthday

Kishore Yeneke

December 4-set for final hearing on National Herald case

Kishore Yeneke

Leave a Comment