Profile of Medak Lok Sabha Constituency

 Lok Sabha constituency of Medak district that carries its names has been known for hundred years for its well-known Medak Church Cathedral. The Cathedral is all set to celebrate its centenary in 2024, the year when the 17th Lok Sabha elections, which are to be held on April 11, will complete its term.

In 1980 Indira Gandhi contested from here and won, and went ahead to become the first female Prime Minister of the country. With its neighbouring Hyderabad already a well-established centre for India’s defence services, the setting up of the Ordinance Factory in Medak added industrial and economic muscle to the Medak Lok Sabha constituency.

The constituency is not just a support for Christianity and India’s defence preparedness. Ever since 2004, it has stood by solidly with Telangana Rashtra Samiti by virtually shutting out all opposition parties, particularly TDP, Congress and the BJP. The TRS began its successful roll in Medak with A Narendra winning in 2004.

Narendra, the then BJP strongman in united Andhra Pradesh joined the TRS party that was then in the middle of a growing movement for a separate Telangana State. In 2009, it was actress M Vijaya Shanti who won on the TRS ticket followed by TRS president K Chandrashekhar Rao in the 2014 elections. With KCR resigning from the seat to head the first-ever government in the new State of Telangana, Medak went for a bypoll and remained true in its support to TRS by electing Kotha Prabhakar Reddy.

The TRS party won from six of the seven Assembly constituencies that comprise of Medak Lok Sabha constituency. The lone exception was the victory of Turupu Jayaprkash Reddy, popular as Jagga Reddy, from the Sangareddy constituency. The Lok Sabha constituency is also home to Gajwel Assembly segment from where Chandrashekhar Rao won, as well as Siddipet from where TRS candidate T Harish Rao registered a thumping victory. Medak Lok Sabha constituency, as per the 2011 census, is predominantly rural with 71.14 per cent of its nearly 21 lakh population dependent on agriculture and allied activities

Related posts

Second phase of GP polls to start soon

Kishore Yeneke

Election cells set up by Telangana Rashrta Samithi

Kishore Yeneke

Work for 60 days for the victory of Congress in Lok Sabha polls

Kishore Yeneke

Leave a Comment