Seven Phase Lok Sabha to begin from April 11

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and continue for a month till May 19 across seven phases, followed by counting of votes on May 23, the Election Commission of India announced on Sunday evening, the countdown for a mega electoral battle where the BJP will pitch for a re-election of Modi government amid the Opposition’s efforts for a united fight to unseat.

The polling will be held on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19 for 543 Lok Sabha seats across the country in which nearly 90 crore voters would be eligible to vote, the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said at a packed press conference here. 

On April 11, Assembly elections will be held in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Odisha simultaneously along with the Lok Sabha polls, said the CEC. Elections for Jammu and Kashmir assembly will not to be held with the Lok Sabha polls, the Election Commission said refer to the security reasons. 

The State has been under Governor’s rule after ruling alliance between the BJP and People’s Democratic Party fell apart last year. National Conference, Congress and other opposition parties slammed the decision to not hold assembly polls in J&K, while opposition leaders elsewhere including in West Bengal also latched onto the EC decision to hold multi-phase elections in their States to slam the government on law and order situation.

Related posts

Tribal communities are far behind: Prof. Amartya Sen’s institute

Kishore Yeneke

Actor Vishal Detained this morning

Kishore Yeneke

IISc’s lab explosion kills a researcher

Kishore Yeneke

Leave a Comment